Quick hits

I’m awfully chatty today!

Some more notes about changes.

I’ve gone back into the habit of bringing a notebook to the gym. It’s really tiny – the size of my hand. I put it in my pocket and drop it on the ground while I do my lifts. I need to remember my past weights because I’m committed to going up as much as possible.

I worried about looking stupid at the gym but I’m way past that now. I’m there every day they open the doors. I see everybody all the time. I’ve thought about it and I don’t have a clue what anybody else is doing. Not one person. I don’t look at them. I’m doing my own thing.

I walk around the place like I own it nowadays.

I don’t have a problem taking a machine with weights on it or asking someone if they are almost done. I have every right to those machines! I’m paying a hell of a lot of money to go there so I’m gonna get my money’s worth. I’ve yet to meet someone there who I would classify as a jerk. That kind of worries me because as the old saying goes – if you don’t know who the jerk is, it must be you. I smile and share so there’s really nothing else I can do about that though!

In all seriousness, I’m not worried. I convinced my wife to lift with me so she’s by my side at all times. I’m confident she wouldn’t pass up an opportunity to let me know if I’m being an ass.

Also, I don’t do the protein shakes as much as I used to. If I’m feeling especially sore I’ll have one but otherwise I skip it. I know now that those things are worthless as a meal replacement. They do help me get more protein in my system though and as I said earlier – that makes me very happy!

Finally, the situps are easy now. I’m still embarrased that I couldn’t do them earlier this month.

Leave a Reply

