Couch to 5K, week 4, day 1

Failure.

That just about sums up this run. The plan was to run 3 minutes then walk 90 seconds then run 5 minutes then walk 2 1/2 minutes. Then I was supposed to do that whole routine one more time.

The first three minute run was OK. The first 5 minute run was not. It took everything I had to keep running for the entire time. I dug deep. It was one of those moments where you get super philosophical about life. I wasn’t in my right mind at the end of it but I did it. The 2 1/2 walk wasn’t enough time to rest because I was still breathing heavy at the end of it.

I don’t know how I managed to finish the second 3 minute run. It was another instance of telling myself to either run it or pass out. No quitting. I did it and I could feel my heart jumping out of my chest. The 90 second walk that followed flew by at the speed of sound. It felt like I had just stopped running.

I struggled through 3 minutes of the last 5 minute run. I could think of nothing that would make me go longer. I was panting so hard that I literally couldn’t breathe. I think that’s a good sign that it’s time to stop.

I walked for 2 minutes and then ran those last 2 minutes. It was just as painful. I was determined to at least get the runs in though.

Needless to say I’m not ready for week 4. I might be on this week for a while. The only thing I can do is keep trying though. Normal people can run for 30 minutes straight. I should be able to run 16 minutes with 3 breaks in between. I’ll get there. It’s just going to take more time then I originally planned.

Leave a Reply

