Couch to 5K, week 4, day 5

No complaints today.

I managed to run the whole thing without my heart beating out of my chest. I was very worried around the second 3 minute run but I made it through with no problems to report.

I wonder sometimes why I’m so pessimistic sometimes. During that second run I wasn’t too tired but I was convinced that I couldn’t finish. I kept telling myself, “you’re not going to make it – it’s too hard.” For 3 minutes I was telling myself to just give up this whole Couch to 5K thing because I’m never going to run for 30 minutes straight.

I’m over that now since I finished my 5 minutes without any issues. The temporary lack of confidence bothers me though.

I think a big factor in this whole thing is the way that Couch to 5K is structured. It’s been really good about letting me gradually step up the time. The problem is that the step up seems way to big for week 5. I’m supposed to run for 20 minutes straight on week 5, day 3? Even though I will never have run for a total of 20 minutes until that time? I ran for a total of 16 minutes today. Next week is 15 and then 16. Those are with walking breaks! Now I’m supposed to magically run 20 minutes nonstop?

I don’t know who designed this thing but he was obviously an experienced runner. He must have no idea how huge an obstacle that run is for beginners. I would make the run 15 minutes straight. That seems like a reasonable time.

Oh well, I’m not qualified to design a running plan. Maybe it will work out. Doesn’t mean I have to like it.

One response to “Couch to 5K, week 4, day 5

  1. I know – it seems crazy to leap to a 20-minute run! But I looked ahead and the next week at least seems to be a lot like this one – three runs on day 1, two on day 2, and one long one on day 3. Maybe that’s the pattern now.

    I did the 20 minute today. It about killed me, I won’t lie, but the fact that its my longest run EVER (not just this year – but EVER) helped to spur me on to finish. Maybe you could just do the second day for a few more days! (i don’t know – i’m not qualified to design a running plan either!)

Leave a Reply

