Couch to 5K, week 4, day 6

Today just wasn’t my day. This was a bad run from the start.

I was hurting during the first 5 minute run. The walking breaks weren’t long enough and I was constantly searching for air. I huffed and puffed through the last two runs. It hurt physically and it hurt mentally. I thought I was almost there. I felt like I could get to where I wanted to go if I just kept trying. Now it feels like I’m regressing.

I don’t know if I’m doing week 5 next week. I just don’t. I’ll think about it over the next two days. I think I can do it. There are five minute breaks between each run and that seems to be my main problem here. Then I think about the 8 minute runs that follow and I get depressed. I’m dying on these runs. How am I going to do that one? I know that I’m basically running 8 minutes with a 90 second break right now. It doesn’t feel like it though. As for the 20 minute run on day 3 of week 5? It pisses me off. I hate to even think about it. I’m not even close to being ready for that.

I can’t quit so I’ll face all these things eventually. I’m glad I don’t have to today though. I’m just not in the right state of mind to be fighting any losing battles right now.

5 responses to “Couch to 5K, week 4, day 6

  1. Oh I’m so sorry you’fe feeling so low! You need to concentrate on all that you have done!

    I went to cool running.com and read some of the newbie forums posts and theres this one guy on there that has been running for like 30 years and he has a lot of advice for beginners and one of his posts is GREAT. Its about keeping it slow – listening to your body – taking the rest days seriously (you’re not really getting rest days if you’re weight-lifting, are you?) and basically smelling the roses. You should try to find it and read it – it helps you to not get discouraged at yourself. You have done a LOT already to be proud of!

  2. Ok, I found the post I told you about. I don’t know how to add hyperlinks to these comments but here is the URL: http://www.coolrunning.com/forums/Forum3/HTML/047444.shtml

  3. Oh wow – it became a hyperlink automatically! Who knew?

  4. Pingback: Afterburn, week 8, day 2 « My Weight Loss Journal

  5. Pingback: Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 12, day 2 « My Weight Loss Journal

Leave a Reply

