My weight loss goal

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what my goal weight should be. I really don’t have a clue. Right now I’m shooting for 200 because that’s a nice even number. To be honest, I really don’t know if that’s where I need to be. I’ve never weighed less than 235 for my entire adult life so I don’t have any frame of reference.

I’m 6’4″ so I think I can still handle 200 pounds and be fit. Who knows though? If I pack on enough muscle maybe 210 or 220 would be the right number. The whole weight thing is just a way for me to judge my progress on the way down. It’s not really an end point.

I’m excited about the prospect of getting down to that weight so I can make a judgement. In the end, though, it won’t really matter. The way I live now is the way I intend to live for as long as I’m able. I intend to lift and run for the rest of my life. Hopefully I’ll learn more about nutrition along the way and incorporate that knowledge into my diet forever.

We’ll see how I feel in the future but for right now there isn’t really a finish line. I’m going to work to improve my physical fitness until the day I die. I’m not going to do it because I have to but because I want to. I’ve bitched and moaned about this process and I’m sure I will continue to bitch and moan. At the end of the day, though, I do it because I still see results. I do it because it makes me happy.

One response to “My weight loss goal

  1. It’s vital to have weight loss and fitness goals, but beware; the numbers you get on the scale can be very deceptive.

    A different way to look at this may be to set a body fat goal (I’ll have my body fat at 12% by 12/13/07) or a clothing size goal (I’ll be comfortably wearing 32 inch pants by 12/31/07).

    Be sure to have some gauge to measure progress, just be sure it’s the right one for you.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

