Couch to 5K, week 8, day 3

I finished my final 28 minute run today.

It was pretty taxing. At times I thought it was tougher than the other two this week. I never worried about finishing it though.

During this run I came to the realization that I hate running for this long. It’s not fun. I try to convince myself that I like it. I only like the effect I think it’s having on my body. I’m usually doing pretty well and enjoying myself up to about minute 20. From there it’s pure drudgery. My only thought is how many more minutes do I have to survive until this torture is over.

To put it simply, running this long doesn’t make me happy. Frankly, that’s the number one goal I have with any of these workout programs. I’m not going to spend the rest of my life running 30+ minutes every other day. I just won’t. I’m pretty stubborn, so I bet I could force myself to do it for a pretty long time. Eventually, though, I’d quit. I’d hate myself for it, but I know I’d have to. I can’t live my life with the threat of some long run constantly hanging over my head.

I’m going to approach this coming week with a sense of pride but also one of dread. I don’t want to do it but I feel like I’ve come so far that I really need to finish it out. I’m going to try to be positive but it’s going to be hard.

I’m sure I’ll feel a rush when I hit that 30 minute mark. I will feel excited and happy that I accomplished something I set out to do.

I will do this three times and that will be the end of it. I will move on to something else and never think twice about my decision. Some people love running long distances. I’m not one of those people.

Leave a Reply

