The waiting is the hardest part

I’ve been kind of bummed out the last few days. It’s my own fault really. I finally realized that I had some pretty unrealistic expectations when I started this thing.

When I first started losing weight anything I did worked. I did nothing but walk a little bit and tweak my diet and the pounds flew off. I was dropping like a stone and loving it. That eventually leveled off and I got to the point where I was losing only a couple pounds a week. I was prepared for this because I’d been reading up on weight loss. You’re only supposed to lose a pound or two a week. Once I got to that point I just accepted that that was how it was going to be.

I guess I imagined that I was going to lose 2 pounds every week. That’s what got me through a lot of tough workouts. I did the math and had it all figured out. I figured that it was gonna take me about a year and a half to get this thing done. February 2007 I was going to be 250. Around May or June I was going to be 220. By the fall of ’07 I was gonna be done with losing weight and on to maintenance.

It seemed really reasonable at the time.

Obviously, it didn’t and won’t work out that way. It’s probably going to end up taking me a little over two years to get to where I want to be – maybe even more.  

There’s not much else I can do about it but sit here and wait. I’m doing the exercise. I’m being really good on my diet.

God, this whole process takes a lot of patience. One pound at a time, I guess. I’m going to go to bed and dream about 269lbs.

Leave a Reply

