NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 2A

Dear God I just got my ass kicked. How many times have I said that now? It’s been true every time. Especially now. By the time I get to lunges I’m just in survival mode. This workout is so damn brutal.

The depressing thing is that I have virtually zero improvement in my numbers. The only thing I did was add weight on my first set of cable rows. I’m kind of pissed about that but then again I’m just happy I did what I did. Doing 3 sets of 15 reps for every lift is a freaking nightmare. I was panting liking a damn dog for the entire hour I was at the gym. Oh, and it was a solid hour of lifting.

Luckily this was the last time I’ll have to squat or lunge for 15. Workout 2B will finish off the 15 reps totally. Workouts 3 and 4 are 12 reps. The rest drops to 60 seconds though. Don’t know how that’s going to affect me. I’m looking forward to the change though. At least the total time in the gym will drop.

Today’s stats:

I guess I should mention the order that I do these things in. I break them into three groups. I alternate the first two for all the sets, then do the next two and then the final two. 75 seconds between every lift.

Squat – 15×150, 15×150, 15×150

(I didn’t feel like I was going to die this time. It was still a huge struggle to get those last two sets done. I felt like I hit a wall around 8 reps but just kept going. These lifts took every ounce of energy I had.)

Cable Seated Row – 15×105, 15×105, 15×105

(I can probably go up. The problem is that the next step up is 120. I hate those pulley machines. There’s always a 15 pound increase.)

Supine hip extension– 15xBW, 15xBW, 15xBW

(These are obviously the easiest thing I do. Notice I didn’t say they were easy. They hit my hamstrings hard and I don’t like that after doing all those damn squats. If I did them first I would probably think they were a joke. Doing them in the order I do them, though, makes them embarrassingly hard.)

Dumbbell push press – 15×40, 15×40, 15×40

(These were still really tough. I might have been able to do 45 but there’s no way I’d get 15 reps on it. I was lucky to get 15 reps at this weight on the last two sets.)

Rotational lunge – 15×35, 15×35, 15×35

(Lunges are just going to be hard no matter what. I felt light headed again by the time I finished them. I think that might be normal when you do 90 freaking lunges.)

Swiss ball Crunch– 15xBW, 15xBW, 15xBW

(I think these are harder then the hip extensions because I’m not sure I’m doing them right. I feel like I’m rocking back and forth on the ball. Maybe that’s cheating. I don’t know. Should my legs stay rock steady? Is that even possible? I’m still experimenting with my form on these things. Sometimes they make my back uncomfortable and that makes me very nervous)

5 responses to “NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 2A

  1. Why are you doing reps of 15? Which training program are you using?

    Long reps are always hard. The 5 rep range fits many goals (strength, speed, power, hypertophy).

  2. I know how you feel. I kicked my own butt today by running intervals.

  3. Bama, dead lifts are one of the better exercises that require technique. For help with your grip you can try two things: wrist straps and opposing grips on the bar. You can view what the straps look like on this site: http://www.net2fitness.com/weight_lifting_straps.htm

    Good Luck and keep up the good work.

  4. Mehdi
    My program is from the book – New Rules of Lifting. I have some info about it in the weight lifting tab on the top of the page.

    Navybill
    I’m going to try to avoid wrist straps. To be perfectly honest I don’t think I should need them at the weights I’m currently doing. Same thing with the mixed grip. The program calls for an overhand grip on these lifts, anyway. I think the plan will call for a mixed grips in a later phase though.

  5. Cosgrove is a good coach.

    I wouldn’t do use wrist strips neither, will only further weaken your grip.

Leave a Reply

