Afterburn, week 5, day 4

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this but I walk to the gym. It takes me about 5 minutes. It’s funny to think that I take that walk only to take another 5 minute warm up walk on the treadmill. After I’m done running I do a 5 minute cool down and then take a 5 minute walk home.

It sounds stupid to walk to the gym just to get on the treadmill in the first place. I’ve already proven to myself that I can’t handle real world running, though, so I guess I gotta do what I gotta do. 

Anyway, on to today’s run.

Same speeds as usual.

9.2/6.2/3.2

This thing is still tough at the end. I guess it’s progress that I’m only gasping for breath during the last 30 seconds of the last sprint now. The final two minute jog that follows doesn’t really help much. I’m a minute into my cool down walk before I feel like my heart rate is back to normal.

Despite all this, I really need to bump up the speed again. It’s only 0.1 miles faster and I think I can do that. It feels like I’m giving my max effort but I bet there’s a little more in the tank. Maybe next week I’ll find out.

Leave a Reply

