NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 4B

Today’s gym lesson: You never know who will teach you something.

I went to lift today with back pain yet again. I’m starting to get used to it. I’ve tried a lot of different things but I think I finally figured out the problem. I’m an idiot.

I haven’t been bracing my stomach during squats or deadlifts. I’ve been concentrating on a 100 different things since I’ve started learning better form. I totally forgot about a simple thing I already knew!

I figured out my little form problem from the last place I would ever expect – my wife. The same woman who constantly tells me that she has zero interest in the hows or whys of our lifting plan. She mentioned that her stomach was sore from the Romanian Deadlifts and it finally hit me. She’s been doing it right all along since that’s how I taught her to do it.

I think this has been what’s holding me back on the squat, too. I guess I’ll find out next time.

Today’s stats: 12 reps,  60 seconds rests

Deadlift – 12×155, 12×155, 12×160 (+5lbs)

(Very proud to have gone up. My grip felt a lot better.)

Dumbbell incline bench press – 12×50, 12×50, 8×50

( Yet again I couldn’t get that last set done. At least I bumped up the weight in the first set.)

Bulgarian split squat – 12×35, 12×35, 12×35 

 (These still made me sweat but I am a ton better now. I was able to hold on to the dumbbells pretty good. Might be time to go up in weight.)

Mixed grip lat pulldown – 12×120, 12×120, 12×120

(Zero issues. I know I can’t do 135 yet, though.)

Romanian deadlift – 12×135, 12×135, 12×135

(My back was giving me trouble during the first two sets. After I braced my stomach, the back pain went away and the weight felt really light.)

Swiss ball lateral roll – 12×15, 12×15, 12×15

(These are really easy now.)

This was the final time with 12 reps. It’s 10 reps and 45 seconds rest for the final four lifts of Fat Loss I.

2 responses to “NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 4B

  1. wow… umm… how do you NOT brace yourself during squats and deadlifts? That’s crrrrrazzzzy! and kinda dangerous. Glad you were able to figure it out though!

  2. Excellent training that you are doing. Your results speak for themselves, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

