NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 5A

I forgot my watch today so I’m sure I cheated a couple of times on the rest. I’m not going to lie. I cheated both times before I did the squat. I couldn’t breathe. The rest before that last lunge was probably a little over a minute too. The rest of them were probably less then 45 seconds to tell you the truth. I basically rested for the time it took me to get to the next station.

Overall it was a good lift and I bumped up all my numbers.

Here are the stats. Reps were 10, rest was (supposed to be) 45 seconds.

Squat – 10×160, 10×160, 10×160 (+10lbs)

(I finally got sick and tired of lifting 150. I’ve been doing the same numbers for a month now and it’s about time I bumped it up. I was REALLY straining on these but I made it through. I made sure to concentrate on holding my stomach tight. My back gave way a little on that last set so I need to watch out. Had to do the old “good morning” on the last two reps.)

Cable Seated Row – 10×135, 10×135, 10×135 (+15lbs)

(After I went up on squats I figured I might as well bite the bullet and go up on these. I made it through pretty good. I was kind of shocked. It might be time to go up again next time.)

Supine hip extension– 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(These were easy as hell. I felt the burn in my hamstrings and my hips but to tell you the truth it feels more like a “working” rest period if that makes any sense.)

Dumbbell push press – 10×50, 10×50, 9×50 (+5lbs)

(I didn’t pay attention to my notations in my notebook last time. Totally forgot that I never got three sets of 45. It’s good that I decided to go up anyway since there were only 10 reps. The first set was TOUGH. Oddly, the second set felt a little easier. I fell one rep short on the last rep. I would be upset about that but my form was pretty shady during that whole set.)

Rotational lunge – 10×40, 10×40, 10×40 (+5lbs)

(The lunges still kill me. I hate them with everything I’ve got. I really had no choice but to go up on these since, like the squats, I’ve been doing the same weight all month. It was as tough as always. My shirt was as drenched as always. Zero grip problems, though. That’s one benefit of fewer reps.

Swiss ball crunch– 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(Easy. I held myself up for a little longer at the top of the crunch to get a little more burn. Didn’t really do much. I’m not sure it’s even worth it to do these things for only 10 reps.)

Leave a Reply

