Afterburn, week 7, day 4

I don’t know how a running club can survive in this town. I know that there are quite a few. Those guys are hardcore. For three months it’s bitterly cold. Then there’s another three months like now where it’s hotter then all hell. I’ve lived all my life in the DEEP south and I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced a day as hot and uncomfortable as today. This week in general has sucked but today took the cake. The walk to the gym was a freaking nightmare. Hot and muggy. Easily as bad as the summer I spent in New Orleans. Definitely worse then anything I ever felt in south Alabama.

I guess that’s what you get when you live in a swamp.

The run today went reasonably well. I had the usual inner bitching and moaning that I go through around the start of the third sprint. Basically I realize that I hate this and I know that there’s no way that I’ll ever finish the run. Then I tell myself that I’m never going to be able to do all 16 weeks of this program and I’m wasting my time. Just a big pity party. As usual, after the fourth sprint started I sucked it up and just finished it off.

Speeds = 9.4/6.4/3.4

Leave a Reply

