Afterburn, week 10, day 2

I managed to do my run this morning.

I didn’t want to do it but I did it anyway. After I woke up I thought long and hard about ways that I could explain away skipping it. Eventually, I decided that I couldn’t think of a good excuse. I got out of bed, had my morning shake and walked out the door. I didn’t turn on my TV or computer. Didn’t even sit down in my living room. I knew if I did any of those things I would probably stay there for hours.

I ended up on the treadmill in the gym about 15 minutes after I woke up. The first few minutes were not too fun because I was sure I was going to throw up. I have never in my life started a run so soon after waking up. I don’t like it AT ALL. After a few minutes my stomach settled and I went about my business.

The entire run was an internal battle. It was pretty depressing. I thought about stopping during every single minute I was there. Literally. EVERY SINGLE MINUTE. My mind was racing with 1000 reasons why I should stop. It was pretty easy to convince myself to keep going when all I had to do was jog. In fact it seemed downright dumb to not at least do that much. I have a thing about symmetry. It would bother me to no end to do say two sprints and only one jog. My mind just has problems with that. I’m weird.

Starting the sprints though, took quite a bit of convincing. As I started every one I told myself that I should at least do one more. The least I could do was that. As I was doing my second jog I thought that there was no way I could ever get to a fifth. I knew I could do a third though so I did it. The process started all over again after the third jog. I could at least do a fourth. By the time it came to the fifth sprint I decided to go for broke and finish it off.

To tell you the truth, there is only one reason that I decided to go and only one reason that I managed to finish. I did it because I said I would do it right here on this blog. I’m many things but I’m not a liar and I’m not a quitter. Writing my promises down is pretty powerful stuff for me. It’s really motivating.

So that’s it. I did my run and I’m pretty damn proud that I did. Now I’m going to rest for about 7 hours and go back and do my lift.

Leave a Reply

