NROL, Fat Loss II, workout 3A

My front squat is a fucking disgrace. This pisses me off beyond words.

I’ve got a ton of problems. First of all my back issues started creeping up on me during the lift. I didn’t have any issues with the warm up but I felt it get tight when I went for the actual lift. That wasn’t really the big issue today though. My form is horrible. Just pathetic. My lower body feels fine but as usual I don’t have a clue with what to do with my upper body. Something is going wrong because the bar is slowly creeping off my shoulders and down my arms.  The final few reps of every set are spent with me holding on to the bar for dear life. I get a huge upper arm workout on these things and that is making me very upset. I’ve got some issues with keeping my torso straight that I need to get ironed out.

Because I suck at front squats I hate this phase in general. Luckily I’m officially halfway though with it. The final 5 lifts can’t come soon enough.

Sometimes I think I have a right to hate this phase but most times I think that I’m just a pussy. I need to stop whining and suck it up and be a man for once in my damn life. My back is just going to hurt. I’m going to have to do lifts that I don’t like. I’m going to have to get out of my comfort zone to get better. That is going to be my life from here on out. I can do it or I can quit.

I pity any poor souls who happens upon this blog and has to put up with my bitching about my plight and how much I suck. I promise that I’m not a completely miserable person. One of the benefits of working out in a pussy boy gym is that everyone else is just a weak as me. While I spent my time making a mockery of front squatting the guy beside me was doing deadlifts with 115 pounds. The guy beside him was doing some front squat/push press combo with something like 70 pounds. We should all get together and start a girl scout troop.

Here are the numbers – 10 reps, 45 seconds rest. (I’m extremely happy to only do 10 reps now. I’ll be even happier when I can get down to 8 reps. 45 seconds on the other hand is a joke. It takes me that long to walk from station to station. I did my best to stick to the time so basically I had virtually zero actual rest.)

Front Squat – 5×95, 10×85, 10×85

(I couldn’t do all the reps in the first set. I’ll be honest and say that it really wasn’t even five reps. It was 2 reps, then I racked it, then 3 reps. I hate myself.)

Wide-grip cable seated row – 10×120, 10×120, 10×120

(I should have gone up but I was too busy feeling sorry for myself about the whole front squatting debacle.)

Supine hip extension with leg curl – 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(These are getting a lot easier. My back is still an issue but not too bad here.)

Barbell push press – 10×85, 10×90, 10×90 (+5lbs)

(I used the same bar that I front squatted with. I actually had to add weight. I can push press more than I can front squat. Has this ever happened to anyone else in the history of western civilization? This should not even be possible.)

Dynamic lunge – 10×25, 10×30, 10×30 (+10lbs)

(I actually got in a grove on these things and felt confident enough to use the 30’s. The whole time I was worried about my back but had no issues. I went really low today. It actually impressed me how low I was able to go. My back knee almost touched the ground and my front knee actually went parallel. I couldn’t believe it.)

Upper-body Russian twist – 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(These just feel silly now. Zero problems.)

One response to “NROL, Fat Loss II, workout 3A

  1. Don’t beat yourself up over the front squat, mine is roughly half of what my back squat is. Just keep doing them and they’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

