Afterburn, week 10, day 3

Today’s run went better then usual. The first four sprint/jog combos went relatively well. I was pushed on the sprints but was able to catch my breath on the jogs. The fifth sprint and jog were a hellish nightmare as they always are. Difficulty breathing along with the soreness that naturally builds up in my legs is a powerful one-two punch.

I wonder sometimes why I put myself through this agony. Then I remember that I need to push myself past my comfort zone if I’m ever going to get better. I’m quite bitter about that little pearl of wisdom I picked up somewhere along the way. I might be a much happier person today if I never knew it. Of course, I’d also be a much fatter person. That would make me very unhappy. Oh cruel fate, why do you taunt me?

No matter how much I complain about the pain of these runs I still feel a great deal of satisfaction after I’m done. Even when I’m my most upset and discouraged I’m always happy to have done it. Every day that I go is a victory in some way for me. I think that’s the one thing I appreciate most about this whole fitness thing. Almost every single day I put a challenge before myself that is very difficult and painful. Every day I face it and win.

I go to the gym. I’m a gym person. For 23 hours every day this fact makes me so proud and happy I could cry. It’s the hour I spend in that God forsaken building that sucks.

2 responses to “Afterburn, week 10, day 3

  1. “No matter how much I complain about the pain of these runs I still feel a great deal of satisfaction after I’m done. Even when I’m my most upset and discouraged I’m always happy to have done it. Every day that I go is a victory in some way for me. I think that’s the one thing I appreciate most about this whole fitness thing. Almost every single day I put a challenge before myself that is very difficult and painful. Every day I face it and win.”

    completely agree

    that’s what it’s all about

  2. I tried HIIT using cycling machine in gym and it was better than using treadmill.. give it a shot and you will see the difference.

Leave a Reply

