NROL, Fat Loss III, workout 4B

I’ve got a love/hate relationship with this phase. I love what it’s doing to my body but I hate the pain it takes to get it done.

I’m still about 8 pounds over my low weight but I have absolutely zero doubt that I look better at this very moment then I ever have in my entire life. I need to do a post on why sometime. This one is about the lift, though.

I’m a HUGE believer in these 20 rep sets. The problem is that they take so much energy to accomplish that I don’t know how long I can get up to do them. Only four more lifts left after this one. I’ve got to get tough.

Here are the stats for today. I did two sets of giant sets and an ab exercise just like last time. 

Front squat – 10×110, 10×110, 10×115, 10×115 (+5lbs)

(Increased the weight for the second consecutive time! Wow! I’ve been in a zone over the past few weeks when it comes to my depth. I’m actually thinking about the effect the lift has on my body as opposed to finding a way to survive. That’s a big difference. If I don’t go low enough I know that I’m only cheating myself. The point isn’t to just get the reps done. The point is to get better.)

Underhand grip pulldown – 10×150, 10×150, 10×150, 10×150 

(Doing all the reps at 150lbs is hard as hell. The last reps on the last two sets took a lot of gritting my teeth but I got them done.)

Step up – 10×40, 10×45, 10×40, 10×40

(I had to back down on the weight here for the second time. It’s just too hard to hold on to the weight. My hands were killing me again.)

Dumbbell push press 10×45, 10×45, 10×40, 10×40

(Backed down on the weight here again too. My form on those first two sets was much better then last time but still not what I want.)

Squat – 20×120, 20×125 (+5lbs)

(I can’t tell you how hard it was to increase the weight on that second rep. I had to basically scream at myself (internally) to put the damn plates on. It hurt like I expected it to but I got a little better so it was worth it.)

Wide grip lat pulldown – 20×105, 20×105

(Didn’t feel as positive about these as last time. My hand were more sore then usual.)

Step up – 20×30, 20×30

(Grumble, grumble, grumble.)

Dumbbell shoulder press – 20×20, 20×20

(It’s embarrassing to struggle to lift the 20’s over my head on those final reps. What can I do? I can only do what I can do.)

Swiss-ball crunch – 10xBW, 10xBW

(A little harder this time. I tried to hold for a beat longer then normal. Just something to change it up a little.)

One response to “NROL, Fat Loss III, workout 4B

  1. Keep up the good work(outs)..

Leave a Reply

