Getting serious about weight loss

I’m becoming obsessed with this weight loss thing. It truly is taking over my life. I think about it around the clock. I don’t know if that’s a bad thing. I believe that the people who are obsessed with winning are the ones who win. The problem is that I haven’t been obsessed with my diet. In fact, I’ve been pretty damn nonchalant about it. I kill myself in the gym and hope for the best with my diet. That’s not good enough anymore. 

I’ve been stumbling around like a child looking for some miracle diet to hold my hand and walk me to the finish line. I’ve wanted something easy that didn’t require me to do too much thinking. It’s time to grow the hell up. I’m going to start counting calories.

I’ve found the time to post on this blog almost every day. I’ve detailed EVERY SINGLE LIFT AND EVERY SINGLE RUN for almost two years now. I can find the time to count my calories and document them as well. I’m going to use Fitday.

I’ve done some research on basel metablolic rate and based on my height, weight and activity level the amount of calories I need to stay at maintenance is around 3600. My actual number is 3768 but fitday gives me 3600 so I’m gonna stick with it. This isn’t an exact science but that number is a pretty good estimate in my opinion.

To lose weight I’m gonna cut that number by around 500 calories. I’m gonna try to stay under 3100 calories a day and see how things go for a few weeks. I’ll adjust that number up or down if things aren’t working.

So basically my diet is this: I’m going to eat whatever I want so long as I know the nutritional content and I can stay below my 3100 calorie limit. If I don’t know the calories, I’m not eating it. The biggest challenge is going to be measuring. I need to measure the hell out of my food. I can’t just eyeball it anymore and say it was X number of calories. I need to KNOW the number.

I’m still going to try to stick to 5 or 6 small meals a day. I’m still going to try to make healthy food choices. I’m just going to be posting my meals every day on my Fitday page and working to make sure I stay under my calorie goal.

This new diet plan seems foolproof. All I have to do is make sure that I’m accurate with my calorie count and continue going to the gym as usual. It’s going to take a lot of work up front putting in all the numbers. Once all the meals I usually eat are stored, though, it shouldn’t be anything more then a few mouse clicks to keep it up from there.

I can do this. A little extra dedication is gonna pay off with huge dividends in the future. If I can stick to this through the bulk of 2008 I’ll reach my weight goals in 2009. It’s going to be worth it.

Leave a Reply

