NROL, Strength II, workout 1D

Today was interesting because it’s the first time in my life that I walked in the snow to get to the gym. That was an adventure to say the least. Even though I got a little practice walking around in the stuff last year it’s still awkward and I’m very slow. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE THE SNOW. It’s really cool to be all alone at night walking around in it watching the flurries come down. Sometimes I can’t believe I’m really here. It’s almost surreal. Totally puts me in a reflective mood.

Today was all upper body. Here are the stats.

Barbell Push Press – 4×95, 4×115, 8×105, 12×95

(The first set was way too low. I tried 135 to start off and didn’t have a chance. Took the 45’s off and replaced them with 25’s. The rest of the sets were reasonably tough, especially the last. It was a lot tougher to push 95 for 12 obviously. At least I have an idea of where I’m at. I’ll be back up to 135 soon.)

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown – 4×150, 4×150, 8×135, 12×120

(Overestimated again and had to drop the weight twice before I got 150 in the first set. I barely got it though. Couldn’t pull the bar all the way down. The second set felt a lot easier. Too easy in fact. The last two were tough but manageble.)

Dumbbell Incline Bench Press – 4×55, 4×60, 12×50

(I didn’t push myself hard enough on the first two sets. After overestimating all day I underestimated the weight here. Figured that since I benched the 70’s I should drop down to the 55’s to start here. The last set was extremely tough. Probably the hardest I worked the entire night.)

Cable Seated Row – 4×135, 4×165, 12×135

(135 was way too low. I think 165 is a good weight for sets of 4. 135 was a good number for 12.)

Dumbbell Upper Body Russian Twist – 6×20, 6×20

(These are a lot tougher with the 20’s. To tell you the truth I should probably go higher. I worry about the ball busting underneath me for some stupid reason. I’ll go up gradually here. 25’s won’t be an issue next time.)

Leave a Reply

