NROL, Strength II, workout 2A

Finally found some aggression today. First time in a LONG time.

The thing I’m learning about squats is that if you don’t come correct you’re gonna get your ass kicked. You have to be confidant and AGGRESSIVE. I need to tattoo “BE AGGRESSIVE” on my forehead or something. I always forget. Most times I go up to the rack all lackadaisical and hope for the best. Afterwards I’m shocked that I had so much trouble.

Today I decided I was going to have my way. I got all pissed off in the cage and threw the weight around. Kept telling myself it was me or the bar. Time to put up or shut up. If you’re serious about this weightlifting thing then you’re gonna get this done. If you’re not, you’re gonna be exposed. I was serious today. IT FELT SO DAMN GOOD. I couldn’t stop smiling after each set.

Here are the numbers.

Squat – 4×185, 4×195, 4×205, 12×145

(Started with my weight from last time. It was a joke. I was almost jumping at the top. I could have done more than 205 on that last set. I didn’t want to be stupid and go too high so I went up in 10 pound increments. Increased the last set by 10 pounds as well. WAY too low. If I go in with the right attitude next time I’ll be able to start with 205 and go up from there. If I don’t come in aggressive I’m going to get my ass kicked.)

Quarter squat – 3×225, 3×235, 3×235

(I’m not sure if I’m going low enough on these things. I really don’t like them that much anyway. The stopping point seems so unnatural. Felt a ton of back pain on that second set so I stayed with the same weight on the third set. If I wasn’t so pissed off I probably wouldn’t have even tried that last one. Probably said “fuck” about 1000 times between sets.)

Good morning – 8×65, 8×85

(I originally put the weight from last time on first (60lbs.) Looked at it and was disgusted with myself. Had a little internal debate afterwards. It was something like this – “Don’t be a pussy. No, don’t be stupid. You’re being a pussy, bump up the weight. YOU’RE GONNA HURT YOURSELF. SUCK IT UP!!!” Finally decided to start with the 10’s on each side and go from there. Felt extremely easy so I went with 85 on the second set. That second set was challenging but I can do more. My back felt OK afterwards.)

Dynamic lunge – 8×30, 8×35

(I remembered what a joke my sets were last time when I used 35. Decided to do these with strict form with the 30’s. Got those done so I went back to 35’s. Those were good too. I feel a lot better about this one. They were tough as hell but I did it.)

Swiss ball crunch – 6xBW, 6×25

(Finally decided to use a weight plate. Did the first set with only body weight. It was a joke as usual. Put the 25 pound plate on my chest and it was just as easy. I’m not gonna put a 45 on because I’m certain the ball is gonna pop on me. I have no reason to think this other than a gut instinct. Probably being ridiculous. Maybe I should get over it. Those things can probably handle over 300 pounds. I’d hope at least. Surely somewhere there’s a 300lber sitting on one of those things.)

2 responses to “NROL, Strength II, workout 2A

  1. Dude, that’s an excellent workout routine, keep it up! 🙂

  2. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

