Insomnia and weight loss (or lack thereof)

This morning I weighed 261.8.

That’s a 0.4 pound loss from last Sundays’ weigh in. It’s a pound more then my lowest this week. Sigh.

Here’s the thing. I haven’t been sleeping. All week I’ve been getting around 5-6 hours.

Yesterday, I had the lowest calorie day I’ve ever had since I started counting on Dec. 3 (2000 cals). This was because I was so tired that I just went to bed after eating only 4 meals. I was probably awake only 12 hours yesterday. I wasn’t trying to limit calories I just ran out of time. So I go to sleep and I wake up 5 hours later STARVING. I tried to go back to sleep because I was so tired but I simply couldn’t ignore my stomach.

Unfortunately I’m not one of those people who can’t go back to sleep an hour later. I also can’t take naps. I can be frustrating sometimes. It’s usually not a problem because I’m a deep sleeper. I have actually slept through a major hurricane. When I’m up, though, I’m up for good.

I can’t help thinking that if I had forced myself to eat before I went to sleep I would have been able to sleep 8-9 hours and I would weigh 260ish right now. That got me wondering if the 200-300 calorie reduction I’ve been experimenting with this week has anything to do with my lack of sleep. If things stay like they are for another week I might go back to 3000 calories for a while just to see if it helps. I can’t imagine that the two are related but you never really know.

Leave a Reply

