Life keeps getting in the way of weight loss

When it rains it pours.

It’s almost been a week off from the gym. I’m going stir crazy. I’d give anything to be able to run on the treadmill or do some lifting. You get used to feeling a certain way and when that’s taken from you it’s tough to adjust. I feel like I used to feel before I started losing weight. I feel tired and lazy and just incredibly depressed. I’m sitting here on the couch thinking about how fat I’m getting. Now that I don’t go to the gym it seems like that feeling lasts all day. I don’t have the rush of endorphins. Knowing that I won’t have it for another three weeks makes it worse. It sucks. I’m wasting a whole month of my life that I’ll never get back.

My weight has been OK so far. I’ve been weighing in at either 250 or 249 for a few days now. I guess what I was eating was just enough for maintenance. I’ve also been taking some long walks so maybe that has something to do with it.

The problem I’m facing now is that work is getting crazy. I’m spending 13 or so hours on the job these days so food is going to be an issue. I’ll probably be eating two meals a day at restaurants for the foreseeable future. I’ll also probably be drinking a lot of coffee just to keep me awake. I think I can keep my calories down to a decent level but I’m gonna be flying by the seat of my pants.

I suppose I can treat this as a test to see how much I’ve learned about the calorie count of foods. A few extra sugar packets in my coffee here, a couple of potato chips with my lunch there and the weight will come back on. I’m gonna make an effort to have a good idea of my daily intake. I’m not going to be as precise as I have been though. I’m taking time off from filling out my Fitday journal until this craziness dies down. I’m just too mentally exhausted when I get home to even think about going through the hassle of inputting all these new foods.

So we’ll see what happens. I hope this work thing only lasts a few weeks. It might only be a matter of days. You never know in my business. Until then I’ll continue to keep posting my morning weight on Fitday (just to have some accountability) and I’ll try to stay within my calorie limit.

I’ve got to stay positive. Sometimes life gets in the way and the best laid plans don’t work out like you’d want them too. I’ll be back on a normal eating pattern and I’ll be back at the gym on March 21. Three weeks. I won’t gain 50 pounds and I won’t lose my passion for working out. I know I’ll make it through this and I know that I’ll eventually reach my goal weight.

This too shall pass.

Leave a Reply

