My heart is OK so far

Just got back from the cardiologist.

The nurse started out doing the standard blood pressure stuff and we hit it off from the start. She weighed me in and her scale is a damned dirty liar. It said 246. Of course I did have jeans and my boots on. Also, I ate lunch right before. Still, that scale is a damned dirty liar. After that, we were joking around and then she tells me she was going to shave my chest! They had to stick these things on me for an EKG. She thought it was the funniest thing ever. Now I have bare patches all over and it itches.

The doctor came in and told me that all my numbers were really good. He asked me about the gym and weight loss. I told him that I lost 110 pounds and he said that I was inspirational. He did a few tests and then went though a list of problems and asked if I had any. I told him no to all of them. I told him that as far as I knew I was in perfect health. He laughed and said that I would get no quarrel from him!

He asked me about what I did in the gym and I told him that I sprinted on the treadmill at 9 mph and jogged at 6 mph. He acted like he was really impressed. He said that most people would consider 6 mph a sprint. To hear the doctor talk you would think I was Lance Armstrong or something.

I’ve got to admit that I’ve never really cared about improving my health during this whole weight loss process. It has been an exercise in vanity almost 100%. I wanted to feel better about myself. I wanted more confidence. All the same, it still feels good to hear two doctors this month tell me that I’m in good shape and that my health is really good.

The doctor scheduled a few more tests for later this week. He wants me to run on the treadmill so he can take a picture of my heart. It sounds like fun. Hopefully I can keep up. It’s been about a month since I last did anything serious on the treadmill so I’m a little nervous. I told them that, though, so I’m sure they won’t try to call me out for being a little off my usual pace.

Leave a Reply

