People’s perception of me is changing.

In my 31 years I’ve heard a lot of comments from a lot of strangers. Being bigger then average for all of that time most of those comments had to do with my weight in some form.

I’m sick and tired of being called “big guy.” I think it’s meant to be a compliment but it is certainly not appreciated. I guess I shouldn’t complain really. One of the advantages of being a man is that in some circles it’s actually considered a positive to be large. It’s certainly not that way for women. In fact, it seems like half the population of men set out specifically to get bigger. The number of blogs from guys wanting to get bigger has to dwarf those of us who want to get smaller.

Bigger doesn’t mean fatter though. Everyone wants to be more muscular. Nobody who called me “big guy” ever accused me of being muscular.

Along those lines, I’ve lost count of the number of times somebody asked me if I played football. That’s just another way of saying, “Hey, I noticed that you are abnormally large.” Yeah, thanks for that.

I say all that because the other day someone in an elevator asked me if I played basketball. That was without question the first time I’ve ever heard that remark. It probably had something to do with the ongoing NCAA basketball tournament. I’ve lived through a lot of those tournaments in the past years, though, and no one ever accused me of being a basketball player before. What do you know? A comment about my height and not my weight. That person was saying, “Hey, I noticed that you are tall.” I gotta say it felt pretty good. Thanks, stranger.

As I think back to the things people have told me over the last month or so I’m starting to notice that a lot of people are commenting on my height. I can think of 5 strangers who told me something along the lines of “Wow, you are tall.” I don’t remember the last time someone called me big guy or even referenced my size in any way.

Leave a Reply

