NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 1A

Wow. I forgot how hard this is.

I made it back to the gym for the first time in a month and I got beat up pretty bad. I went back to the Fat Loss phase hoping to get back to hard work and profuse sweating. I definitely got what I bargained for. This lift was TOUGH. I’m sore right now and I know that things are going to be a 100x worse tomorrow. What a nightmare. I’m not sure I want to go to sleep.

My strength was just as bad as I worried. My disappointment was tempered by the knowledge that I’m doing really high reps. Still, it feels like I’m starting back at square one. Perhaps things will look up as the weeks go by. You’ve got to start somewhere, I guess.

Here are the numbers. 

Squat – 7×135, 15×95, 15×95

(I started out with 135 and I couldn’t get all the reps. This was more then a little depressing. I made a promise to myself that I would do what it takes to do things right so I dropped the weight. The high reps made my legs incredibly sore but I had no problems with breathing. It’s good to know that I’m not sucking wind anymore. I’ll get those numbers up eventually. My reps drop pretty soon and I’ll get back to form before long.)

Cable seated row – 15×120, 15×120, 15×120

(Stuck with my first guess and I think it was a good one. These were tough. I think I can try to go a little higher next time. We’ll see.)

Supine hip extension – 15xBW, 15xBW, 15xBW

(After the squats these were pretty difficult. I didn’t have any problem with form but they still gave me a hard time. I’m glad that this lift has bodyweight stuff like this. It’s a welcome relief after finishing the first two.)

Dumbbell push press – 15×30, 15×30, 15×30

(Again I guessed on the weight and again I think I hit it pretty close. By the time I got to that last set I was struggling like crazy. I don’t know that the 35’s would have been possible.) 

Rotational lunge – 15×15, 15×15, 1×15

(I went really low here and that was probably for the best. I dropped really low on every single rep. My knee was constantly scraping the ground. Beads of sweat were rolling down my face just like old times. My wind was good though so I guess I should be thankful for that improvement. By the last set I simply couldn’t go on. My legs were too tired.)

Swiss ball crunch – 15xBW, 15xBW, 15xBW

(You know you’ve had a tough workout when you struggle with crunches. That’s just what happened. I was so tired during the last two sets I had to grit my teeth and fight through them. The last set came right after I failed on the lunges. It was a struggle like that I haven’t felt in a while.)

Leave a Reply

