One Hour Runner, week 1, day 1

I’m going to do it. I’m going to try One Hour Runner. (Scroll to the bottom. I don’t know how to make it show up at the right spot. If anyone does I’d appreciate help figuring out that link.)

Today was day 1 and I actually did it outside. Just like I did a few days ago I went down to the water and ran. I went for about 20 minutes and then turned around to get the last 10. It wasn’t that difficult to be honest. There were quite a few hills and it was slow going for a while because of that but I soldiered on. The only problem really was the heat. I had a hoodie on since it was raining this morning. While I was out there I didn’t see a cloud in the sky. It was HOT!

I’m supposed to run for 30 minutes, three times a week, for the next three weeks. In week four I start bumping up the time. In week 10 I run for an hour.

This should be a fun challenge. I don’t know if I’m going to be able to do every single run outside but I’ll try. Come hell or high water, though, the one hour run will be done outside.

4 responses to “One Hour Runner, week 1, day 1

  1. Good luck with that!

  2. Just been reading through some of your archive and was wondering how you think this new workout compares to the one you completed from Alwyn Cosgrove (was it afterburn… sorry, don’t remember)? It seems to me like running for an hour is at odds with Cosgrove’s theories. Do you feel like the 1 hour running is better or is it just something different to keep you motivated?
    Keep up the good work…
    ~Jason

  3. Yeah, it’s at odds with Cosgrove’s theories but sprinting gives me chest pains for some reason. That’s why I’ve been going to the doctor.

  4. Oh… sounds like a really good reason to not do it then! Thanks again for sharing so much on your blog, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

