Two years of weight loss

Today marks the beginning of my third year of losing weight.

It seems like another lifetime ago. April 1, 2006 was the day that I first started taking the baby steps that got me to where I am now. On one hand, I’m incredibly proud of what I’ve accomplished over the past two years. On the other, I’m a little disappointed because back then I thought I’d have reached my goal by this point. I remember thinking that I’d hit 200 pounds in the summer of last year. My body had other plans, I guess.

I managed to lose about 40 pounds this year. That’s a marked decrease from the 77 I lost in year one. All things considered, it’s still a good number and I made a lot of great strides last year.

I fully expect this to be my year. By April 1, 2009 I expect to weigh in the sub 200’s. It can be 199 for all I care. I just want to get there. That seems like a perfectly reasonable goal. If I don’t have any huge snags along the way I might even be able to reach it before the start of the new year. Thirty six pounds in 9 months would total out to about a pound a week. Knowing what I know now, though, that seems to be a best case scenario. A lot of things would have to fall into place but still it’s possible.

Either way, be it 9 months or 12 months (or even longer if necessary) I know that I’ll get there. I’ve proven to myself that I have what it takes to accomplish my goal. It’s not an if but a when. Two years ago this whole thing seemed like a dream. Now it’s just a matter of time.

One response to “Two years of weight loss

  1. Congratulations! You inspired me a lot! 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

