One Hour Runner, week 1, day 2

Today I feel like a runner.

This morning I woke up to more soreness then I’ve ever felt in my entire life. As soon as I rolled out of bed the pain in my legs and back were so bad that I literally had to hold on to counters and doorknobs to get around. I could barely stand up straight even when I did that. It was horrible. At the time running was impossible.

As the day went on I started feeling a little better but I noticed that the weather outside was getting bad. It got really cold and then it started raining. My first thought was that this was a sign. You’re tired and sore and now it’s cold and rainy – take a day off. Then I thought about it some more and decided that this wasn’t a sign – it was a test. Was I really feeling as bad as I thought I was?

Eventually I decided that I was going to walk to the trail I like to run on. It takes about 30 minutes to get there. I figured that if I couldn’t run when I got there I would just turn around and worst case I’d have an hour walk under my belt. Walking outside was miserable the whole way. My legs hurt and my hands were freezing. I think that was the worse part. Once I got to the trail I started psyching myself up to go for it. When I got to my starting point I immediately hit the timer on my watch and started running.

It was phenomenal. The first few seconds were touch and go because my legs were feeling a little sore but most of the pain went away during the walk. After about a minute I found a good pace and stuck to it for the rest of the run. I stopped thinking about the pain and just ran.

I can see now why people get so philosophical about running. I didn’t see a soul out there the whole time. It was just me and the gravel and the ducks and the trees. I don’t know that I really thought about anything to tell you the truth. I just kind of zoned out and looked around. My hands went numb really quickly and I didn’t even think about them being cold anymore. My body felt good. Even the hills didn’t bother me this time.

I felt good while I was running and I felt good walking home. I took down my hoodie after the run and just let the rain hit my face. It didn’t even bother me. I don’t know how to explain the whole experience really. It’s just one of those days when you’re grateful to be alive. I hope I have another day like this someday soon.

Leave a Reply

