NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 5A

My legs didn’t feel too sore today so I decided to go to the gym. I actually went a little early so the place was a lot more busy. As a result, I dealt with things that I don’t normally see when it’s just me and a couple of other guys.

Rather then think about my back issues and how horrible my lifts were I got to see an obnoxious trainer, an insanely attractive girl and a pack of ogling guys. Thinking about how much other people suck is a lot better then spending an hour thinking about how much I suck.

Here are the numbers.

Squat – 10×135, 10×145, 10×145

(I tried to think of nothing else but bracing my abs today. I got by the first set without back pain for the most part. I felt a little guilty about going so low so I added 10 pounds on the second set. A little more back pain on that one but overall it wasn’t too much of a problem. On the third set I had major back issues going down on the very first rep. I racked it and thought about what I was doing. I’m knew I wasn’t going to hurt myself with 145 freaking pounds. I eventually got back under the bar and got all the reps.

I’m gonna need to drop the reps soon. Even this many felt like too much. Too many chances to hurt myself. I’ve thought about doing something like a 5×3 program. Maybe it would help me mentally get past all my back worries.

Either that or I can stop being a pussy and start acting like a man. This is getting ridiculous. I’m wasting my time.)

Cable seated row – 10×135, 10×135, 10×135

(That weird pain/soreness thing in the back of my left shoulder came back today. I don’t know what muscle it is.)

Supine hip extension – 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(I used the bigger swiss ball for the first two sets. Makes it a little tougher. As I walked over to do my third set some trainer guy was sitting on it! He saw me using it during my first two sets! What an ass. Couldn’t really interrupt him because he was in the middle of working with a client when I walked over. I had to grab a smaller one.

Here’s the thing about personal trainers. In the two years I’ve been going regularly to the gym I’ve never seen a male personal trainer who looked like he was a personal trainer. I’ve seen plenty of women who looked the part. The guys, though, have all been either fat or scrawny with nothing in between. This guy was fatter then me! New rule – if you’re fatter then me you can’t be a personal trainer. Isn’t there already a rule that says you have to be in good shape to do that job? Guess not.)

Dumbbell push press – 10×40, 10×40, 10×40

(Stuck with the 40’s because of the shoulder thing. I did them pretty fast and now my elbow hurts. WTF? Gotta go up in weight here.)

Rotational lunge – 10×20, 10×20, 10×20

(I regret not going with the 25’s. These were tough and I couldn’t do them consecutively but I need to go up in weight since I don’t have any pain on this one.)

Swiss ball crunch – 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(No biggie but I did have a weird experience. After I finished my first set I looked up and I’m standing directly in front a gorgeous girl using a machine about 10 feet away. She was an absolute knockout. The crazy thing is that she was modestly dressed. Never seen that in a gym before. It didn’t matter what she wore, though, she was going to be noticed.

For my last two sets she was still there doing her thing. I turned around and did my reps with my back to her. When I got up I was facing the rest of the weight room and saw about 10 guys staring past me. It was the creepiest damned thing I’ve ever seen in my life. It wasn’t that guys were looking it was just the sheer numbers and the fact that nobody was even pretending to be sneaky about it.

I remember thinking that she’s probably never going to come back to our gym. Then I thought that she’s probably going to get that no matter where she goes. There were other attractive women around who were dressed much more provocatively. This is just her cross to bear, I guess. It’s one thing to show up in some skimpy outfit. It’s another to just wear a t-shirt and shorts and still get gawked at. Must be tough.)

Leave a Reply

