NROL, Fat Loss I, workout 6A

Today was one of those days where you learn the difference between being injured and being hurt.

Today I found out that I was just hurt. My right hip has been really bothering me for the last few days. Yesterday I had difficulty walking. It was really sore today and sometimes made a popping noise. For a while, I thought there was something wrong and that I should skip my lift.

I finally decided to do what I always do. I went to the gym to take my shot. If I couldn’t lift I’d turn around and walk home. As It turned out I was good to go. It was actually one of the least painful lifts I’ve had in a long while.

Here are the numbers.

Squat – 10×145, 10×145, 10×145

(I read Starting Strength for about the 15th time over the weekend. It amazes me how many different little things there are to remember and how I keep making the same mistakes.

I did a ton of warm up sets to start. Did 5 bodyweight reps, 5 with 45lbs and 5 with 95. I think that was the difference. I haven’t been diligent in doing all my warm up sets lately. I always show up with barely enough time to finish. That’s just being stupid. As Rippetoe says, “If you don’t have time to warm up, you don’t have time to train!”

Another thing I did was tweak my form. I’ve been looking up at a point above my head which is a no-no. I’ve also been keeping my elbows basically parallel with the bar – another no no.

Today I was able to pick a lower point to focus on. All the racks are facing a mirror but the rack I picked had a bar at about chest level – not ideal but good enough to use as a reference point. I remembered to keep my elbows up as well. This allowed me to drop the bar a little lower on my back.

The reps were all back pain free save the first rep of set 3. That one always hurts for some reason. Maybe I just get too tired by then. The rest were good and I’m happy with my form for the most part. There is definitely room to improve on my depth but considering the hip problems I’m happy.)

Cable seated row – 10×150, 10×150, 10×150

(I went up in weight for the first time here. I had no choice. The previous five lifts were all at 135. That’s embarrassing and unacceptable.)

Supine hip extension – 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(No biggie here. Just like last time somebody stole my favorite swiss ball. This time it was just a regular gym goer. I can’t win.)

Dumbbell push press – 10×45, 10×45, 10×45

(Knowing that this was the last lift of a phase really gave me the incentive to add weight. Why can’t I be like that all the time? The first two sets were OK. Form on the last set was shaky toward the end.)

Rotational lunge – 10×20, 10×20, 10×20

(Same weight as always. Same struggle as always. Felt like I’d ran for an hour after I was done with these. Form was phenomenal as usual. My knee touched the ground every time. I do not even play on these. I’m thrilled with my form.)

Swiss ball crunch – 10xBW, 10xBW, 10xBW

(Boring.)

Leave a Reply

