One Hour Runner, week 9, day 1

30 minutes.

I remember during the middle of this run thinking that it was going pretty smoothly. The first run of the week has been pretty tough for me lately so this was odd. Ten minutes passed. Then twenty minutes. It was cake.

Of course someething went wrong eventually. At the 22 minute mark I started getting a stitch in my side. It hurt like hell. Every time my foot struck the pavement my stomach hurt. I had to grit my teeth to finish. There was a time about 4 minutes before I finished that I thought I wouldn’t be able make it to the end. It was bad.

I did finish though and I’m proud of that. The second I stopped running the pain stopped. Maybe that was my body’s way of telling me something? Too bad. I was not quitting. Not this close to the finish line. I’m almost done. Two weeks left. Can’t stop now.

3 responses to “One Hour Runner, week 9, day 1

  1. I’ve had this happen before and a friend told me to time your breathing so that you breathe out when your foot on the side that has pain hits the ground. Sounds weird, but it worked for me. Congrats on everything you’ve done so far! 🙂

  2. I’m doing one-hour runner, too. Finished week 4 day 2 today (29-minute run). You seem to be doing great with the time increases. Hope I can do the same. Keep up the great work!

  3. Thanks for the tip, Jen. I’ll definitely try that.

    Dani, it’s awesome to hear from someone doing the same programs as me. Good luck. I’m sure we’ll both get through this one.

Leave a Reply

