Starting Strength, workout 1B

This was a good lift. It’s not often that I go to the gym without any pain to report. The weight needs to go up but I feel like I’m on my way.

Squat – 155×5, 155×5, 155×5

The shoes are doing wonders for my form. Stability is no longer an issue. I don’t rock forward on my toes anymore.

The back didn’t hurt too much today either. I’m ready to go up next time.

Press – 95×5, 95×5, 95×5

These were pretty tough toward the end but I can go up pretty easily

Power Clean – 65×5, 65×5, 65×5

I think I did pretty good for my first time to ever power clean. I found some 10 pound bumper plates that make this a lot easier. They are the same size as the 45’s so there’s no awkward moments through the motion. I’ve got to say that I really love this lift. It just feels cool.

I’m thrilled with my flexibility. That was my main concern. I was able to get my elbows up and rest the bar on my upper body. By the second set I felt like I had the hook grip down. By the third set I felt like I had the stomp synchronized with my arms going up.

The weight was WAY too low but you’ve got to crawl before you can walk. I’m gonna go up slowly to make sure I can handle this.

Leave a Reply

