Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 1, day 1

Today I started my 18 week training program to prepare for the Marine Corps Marathon in October. I’m gonna be running four times a week. Should be fun.

The plan calls for running miles instead of minutes. I never got around to getting that GPS watch so I’m gonna stick to running for time. I’ve decided to run 11 minutes for every mile. That’s a little long for these short runs but 10 minutes is probably too short. By the time I get up to 10 or so miles I’m sure I’ll slow down and it will average out.

On to today’s run.

33 minutes.

I gotta say that it felt like I was back to square one today. I felt way more tired then usual. Hopefully, it was just a little rust and I’ll be back to normal soon.

5 responses to “Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 1, day 1

  1. have you tried using http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/ to find the miles that you’re running?

  2. May I suggest http://www.mapmyrun.com. Excellent resource. Usatf has the same thing. Both are easy to use.

    Good luck on your marathon. Higdon’s plans are great!

  3. I’ll be following your progress with interest. I’m going to start my half marathon training soon but I”m going to use Galloway’s plan.

  4. Thanks for the links, guys.

    Unfortunately, the trail I like to run on doesn’t show up on any maps.

  5. pinkcowgirl’s site looks good (thanks for the new resource!). Since it is a Google map, what I’ve done before is to switch the view to “satelite” so you can eyeball your trail where there are no streets.

    Have you seen the Nike+ sport band? http://nikeplus.nike.com/nikeplus/index.jhtml
    I thought it looked interesting, but have heard there might be issues with the USB connection to your computer, though.

    Let us know how the training goes…

Leave a Reply

