Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 7, day 2

66 minutes.

You know things are getting serious when I’m running for an hour in the middle of the week!

I had a little bit of a rough start to this one. I wasn’t really mentally prepared. I got distracted at home, looked up and it was 6:30. I rushed to get all my gear together and didn’t start running until around 7. One thing I learned is that you have to be mentally right before these things. I can’t just roll out of bed and run for an hour. I need to think about it a little.

For the first 10 minutes I hated it and kept thinking that I don’t like running. Then, just like on most of my runs, I hit my stride and it wasn’t a big deal. Then it actually got really fun.

It doesn’t happen all the time but sometimes, like today, I get into a little zone where it seems like my legs are moving on their own without me having to push. I’m just cruising and my mind wanders. At those times, the last thing I want to do is stop. I sometimes think about serious stuff and other times silly stuff. At any moment I might be deep in thought or laughing out loud. I’m really happy when this happens and a little depressed when it’s over. The people I see with Ipod’s don’t know what they’re missing.

I started running to lose weight but I can’t imagine stopping if I ever do get to whatever weight I finally get to. I’ll tone down this crazy schedule one day. I’ll try to incorporate other things like swimming or maybe biking. I’ll get back into lifting weights. I don’t think I’ll ever stop running, though. I like to think that I’ll still find time to get out on some trail and run for an hour. Some days will be horrible. Other days, though, will be truly great. That’s all it will take to keep me coming back for more.

One response to “Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 7, day 2

  1. You know this is very ironic. pretty much says everything.

Leave a Reply

