Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 7, day 4

132 minutes (12 miles)

I just ran for 2 hours and 12 minutes! I’m a two hour runner!

I brought along a protein bar for this run and I think that was a good thing. I ate it around the 90 minute mark. Things usually start getting pretty bad at that point so I figured I needed some calories. I felt a lot better afterwards. I only ended up drinking two of my water flasks during the run. I downed the other two as soon as I finished.

The run was tough but nothing to write home about. The worst part was that I ended up running after the sun went down. I spent about 40 minutes running in the dark. There were long stretches where trees were blocking out moonlight and it was virtually pitch black. I don’t want to make a habit of doing this. One bad step and ….. I don’t want to think about it.

The walk home was much more painful then the run. This is starting to become a regular thing. I manage to grind out the run and then the second I start walking the pain hits me. I kept telling myself that it was part of my workout and it was going to make me better.

I tweaked my post run nutrition today. I added bananas and watermelon. I read that that’s what the Kenyans eat after their runs. That and a whey shake. I’m pretty much done with whey so I just had some chicken instead. I also had a glass of milk like I always do. I read somewhere that that’s what a lot of college football teams are drinking after their workouts. Finally, I had a bottle of gatorade like always but I’m thinking of phasing that out.

Leave a Reply

