Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 9, day 2

77 minutes.

This was an OK run. I thought it was going to be bad but things turned out all right.

On the walk down I had pain in my left foot, my left shin and a cramp in the back of my right leg. After I started running the foot pain and the cramp went away. The shin started acting up every now and then but it was nothing too worrisome.

One thing that I really concentrated on was not looking at my watch. This really helped to make the time seem to fly by. I didn’t look first until the 20 minute mark. Probably the first time ever. I peeked a few times afterwards but overall a lot less then normal. I know which landmarks correspond with which times so I had a pretty good idea the whole way. Not looking at my watch just made it seem quicker.

I went out again with no water and I didn’t need any. I wasn’t that thirsty after I finished. I guess that’s because I went out so late and ended up finishing in the dark again.

I know I keep saying this but I think that temperature is the most crucial factor in any run. It pretty much decides how the run is gonna go. I remember thinking that the marathon is going to start in the morning and I’ll be finishing around 1pm. I also remember worrying about that a little bit. I wouldn’t even think of running during that time right now. The race will be in October, though, so I imagine that heat won’t be a factor. It will probably be really cold. That is a good thing.

Summer can’t end soon enough. It’s really putting a cramp on my running plans.

One response to “Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 9, day 2

  1. And here I am thinking winter can’t end soon enough!

Leave a Reply

