Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 10, day 4

Planned – (165 minutes). Actual – (115 minutes).

FAIL.

This was the first run that I couldn’t get done. The plan was to run for two hours and 45 minutes (15 miles). I only managed one hour and 55 minutes (10+ miles).

The whole thing is depressing. I decided to start out a little earlier in the afternoon in order to avoid the darkness. This caused me to get out in the heat of the day. I was miserable within an hour.

I was just in a dark place the whole time. Kept thinking that there was no way I could do this run. Kept thinking there was no way I could ever run a marathon. I just had the feeling that I have been wasting my time all along. By the time I stopped I was out of water. The thought of running for another hour made me even more miserable. My legs were killing me.

Since I stopped with an hour to go that left me with two hours to walk home. That’s a lot of time to think about things. I spent a lot of time wondering how the hell I was ever gonna get this thing done in 7 weeks. I thought a lot about how much I missed lifting weights.

I understand that every run is not gonna be sunshine and lollipops. These long runs are killing me, though. There is zero joy from start to finish. I’ve been doing the fitness thing long enough to know that I get these feeling sometimes. It wasn’t long ago that I hated every second in the gym and saw running this marathon as some salvation from all that misery. Now the tables have turned. The grass is always greener, I guess……..

I think I’ve learned enough to know that I don’t hate running as much as I think I do right now. Quitting isn’t gonna make me happy. Finishing what I started is.

I’ve got to find a way to get through this.

4 responses to “Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 10, day 4

  1. Hmm…for me the long runs are the highlight of my running week.

    You are doing so well! Don’t give up now.

  2. Yes, definitely don’t give up! We ALL have runs like this, where things just don’t go as planned. The next time will go better, it always does. You just have to remember the runs where it felt like you were running on clouds instead of feet. 🙂

  3. Please don’t give up! You are my inspiration to keep trying to do this 5K that I have coming up in three (!!!!!!) weeks. I tell myself that you’ve been where I’ve been and now you’re training for a marathon, so there’s no reason for me to give up and/or quit.

    I hope your next run is much better!

  4. Thats a whole lot of running. I hope I can get there someday.

    I’ve got my wife talked into the idea and she used to run cross country…I don’t think she feels that kind of pain anymore.

Leave a Reply

