Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 11, day 2

88 minutes.

I held this one off for two days but I didn’t have any choice but to do it this morning. The only way I can possibly stay on schedule is to do three straight runs over the next three days. If I miss one, my whole running plan is FUBAR.

With that in mind, I woke up at 5am this morning to do my little 8 mile run. I’m pretty sure that’s the definition of insanity. Believe it or not,  I actually saw a few other runners out at that ungodly hour. The sun’s not even out and we’re all running around town.

The first three minutes of this run were miserable. The first three minutes of any run are miserable but these three were particularly bad. I don’t know what happened but after that things got progressively better. First I was just OK and then I started feeling pretty good. It got to the point where I was just putting one foot in front of the other and having a good time. I don’t know that I’ve ever had an easier 8 mile run in my life.

I actually feel really good right now. I’m not tired at all. All of that and I might actually get to work on time. Pretty good start to the day.

Leave a Reply

