Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 12, day 2

8 miles.

Another treadmill run. I set the incline at 1.0 and dropped the speed back down to 6.0. That was probably a good idea. I’m totally spent right now. The incline settings on a treadmill are NO JOKE.

I think I mentioned earlier that I haven’t run on a treadmill since March. That was when I did the Afterburn runs at the gym. I haven’t used the treadmills in my apartment since I did Couch to 5K well over a year ago. I thought about that time as I ran today. It was 18 months ago that I feared running for 8 minutes straight on those things. Today I ran for 80 minutes.

It’s weird to think back on that time. I thought a 30 minute run was damn near impossible. A year and a half later that’s a warmup. I can’t imagine going out and not running for at least that long.

The whole thing makes me think about my struggles with this marathon. It seems so impossible. Each of my long runs is more depressing then the last. Maybe in 18 months I’ll look back on this time and laugh about it.

3 responses to “Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training, week 12, day 2

  1. As my first-ever 5K is looming right over my head, you continue to encourage me with your posts. I cannot wait to get to the point where you are now! Because, honestly, I’m scared out of my mind about this race! LOL

  2. I’ve (secretly lol) followed your blog since you were doing the C25K and I remember this post!

    I’m doing the C25K again and think about the “misery” you went through during some of those runs and where you are now. It helps/inspires me a whole lot!

  3. It’s amazing how our body adapts isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

