Plans for the future

I’m probably going to take the rest of the week off to recover. My legs feel good but I’m currently suffering through a pretty nasty cold right now. I’d like to be feeling a little better before I get back to the grind.

First off, I’ve already got another race scheduled. I’m running the Memphis Half Marathon in five weeks. I decided to do it to support my wife. She ran her first 5K in the same race where I ran the half marathon. I guess she caught the running bug and wanted to give a half marathon a shot. We’re moving to Memphis next month so that seemed to be the best race to try. Turns out they’re having their race in the first week of December. I guess we’ll get a good look at the town in our first week there.

I know that this is pretty sudden but I have no worries. The half marathon distance wasn’t an issue in the half marathon I ran and it wasn’t an issue in the marathon. I’m going to do three runs a week to stay in shape. I’m thinking something simple like two 3-5 milers during the week and a longer run on the weekend.

That’s not really a weight loss thing, though. My weight loss plans were basically derailed for a few months because of this marathon and it’s time to get back in gear. It’s past time to go back to the gym.

I’m constantly on the lookout for lifting plans. The newest one I’ve found and that I’m going to try is the Men’s Health Belly Off plan.

It’s an eight week program with three lifting days a week. There’s also a little HIIT cardio thrown in the mix as well. It’s kind of like NROL, I guess. There are a few weird things thrown in there but I’m going to give it the old college try and see if I can’t lose a little weight right before the new year.

You can check out a bunch of videos detailing the lifting plan here. There’s also a corresponding diet plan. It’s pretty similar to what I’m already doing so I think I can keep up with it. You can check that out here.

I already know that I won’t be able to devote 8 straight weeks to the plan. I’m moving in a month so week 4 will be devoted to closing on a house and Thanksgiving. We’re actually moving in week 5. Three weeks after that is Christmas so I’ll be flying home that week. In the best case scenario I could get this done in 11 weeks which would get me to the middle of January. This is a little annoying but it’s not like I have any other options.

In the past I might have just decided to wait until the new year. You know – new year, new start and all that garbage. That’s a dumb idea. I’m not going to waste the five weeks that I do have just so everything can be tied up neatly in a little bow. I’ll probably gain weight in my off weeks so I probably won’t get a real sense of if this program really works or not. Maybe, I’ll try it again next year. Who knows. I’ve got to do something now, though, and this is going to be it.

2 responses to “Plans for the future

  1. Sounds like a great plan! I am ordering the New Rules of Lifting for Women and I can’t wait for it to arrive. I just hope I can do all the stuff it requires.

    Good luck to you and your wife at the next race!

  2. Sounds good to me.

    Have you tried stronglifts.com 5×5?

Leave a Reply

