Belly Off 2008, week 1, day 1

It’s been almost five months since I was serious about lifting. It’s crazy to think that I spent that much time away from the gym. It’s good to be back.

I started slow today and that was a good thing. I feel like I’m starting over. I guess it’s true that if you don’t use it, you lose it.

Here are the numbers.

Deadlift (15×115, 12×120, 10×125)

The first two sets were pretty easy. My form went bad on that last one. I had to take a couple of shots in order to get it right. I guess I’ve learned enough to know when I’m screwing up. My back wasn’t straight early on so I stopped. Eventually I got it right and pushed through.

I don’t think I’ll go up in weight too much in the near future.

Bench (10×135, 7×135, 5×135)

Here’s where I realized how weak I am. I couldn’t get all 10 reps of 135 in either of the last two sets. That’s gotta be a new low. I don’t remember ever not being able to at least get this much. Ever. I’m sure I was at one point but….. wow. I’ve got a lot of work to do.

Reverse lunge (10×30, 10×30, 10×30)

These are as hard as ever. It’s so funny to be sweating like a pig holding 15 pound weights. I think all my reps were pretty good, though.

Intervals

After this I got on the bicycle and did intervals. I did 30 seconds as fast as I could with one minute cool down periods in between. After 10 rounds of that I was done. It took almost 20 minutes.

I was exhausted walking out of the gym. My legs felt weak. This workout is no joke.

4 responses to “Belly Off 2008, week 1, day 1

  1. Yay to getting back on the wagon! I’ve been on again off again as well. I’m hoping my blog will help me stick to it better. It’s the one week breaks that end up being a six month break. I’ve read a bit of your blog before, too. Congrats on losing the weight and to getting healthier!

  2. Good on you for getting in there again.

  3. Good job getting back into it…

    Give your body time to adjust to the exercises and using weights again. Don’t rush into raising the amount you’re lifting!

  4. Welcome back to the Wonderful World of Weights!

Leave a Reply

