Belly Off 2008, week 1, day 2

I put this off as long as I could.

The thought of doing squats yesterday was horrifying. I couldn’t even walk normally. There was no chance. Today wasn’t much better but I figured I’d better get going. Either I go to the gym or I don’t. I don’t want to be some guy who goes to the gym every once in a while.

Hopefully I can get back in to the habit. Back in the day there was no thought involved. At 8:30 I got off the couch and got ready for the gym. Today I sit around and try to convince myself to go. It’s just like I’m starting over. I’ll get back in the swing of things eventually. I hope. I forgot how much this part sucks.

Here are the numbers. I did all four in a row with no rest then repeated three times.

Dumbbell Snatch (8×20, 8×20, 8×20)

This is a new one for me. I think I’ve got the hang of it pretty quickly.

Ranging Squat (10×95, 10×95, 10×95)

These are squats. You just open up your stance a little wider on each set. I stuck with just the old 25’s on the bar with absolutely no shame. I’m so over worrying what I look like. I want to one day figure out how to do this damn exercise right. I’m still not there. Had difficulty getting depth on the first two and the last set was mostly horrible. At a certain point I’d have a little twinge in my back and come up too soon. I kept my chest up and back straight on all the reps though so that’s progress.

I’ll get the depth eventually. I don’t care if I have to do 95 pounds for months. I’ll get this right before I go heavier.

One Arm Dumbbell Press (10×35, 10×35, 10×35)

For some reason I had more trouble keeping my balance on the seat when I used my right arm. I wonder if that speaks to some flaw in my form? Am I weaker somewhere else? I can’t figure this one out. When I did my left I had no trouble. On the right I had to move the weight and fight for stability. Weird.

Dumbbell RDL w/row (10×25, 10×25, 10×25)

I sweated my ass off doing these things. Each set is basically 20 because you have to do the Romanian deadlift and then you go back for the row. I went as far down as I could while keeping my back straight but honestly that wasn’t too far. I got the weight down to my knees. I’m not really sure how far you’re supposed to go.

Leave a Reply

