Belly Off 2008, week 1, day 3

WOW. I just got my ass kicked.

This was the toughest workout I’ve done in a long time. I couldn’t finish. I am spent.

Here are the numbers.

Hang Clean/Front Squat/ Push Press (8×70, 8×70, 8×70)

This is a hybrid lift. You start with the bar at your knees, clean it to your shoulders, front squat it and then push press it from there. I tried 95 one time and quickly figured out I had NO shot. I dropped it down to 70 pounds and I was lucky to get all the reps. I had no problem with the clean or the squat but the press was tough. My arms were done at this point.

Push up/pull up ladder

The goal here is to do two push ups for every pullup. Reps start with 2 pushups and then one pull up. Then you double everything until you get to 10 push ups and 5 pull ups.

My push ups were weak from the start and I had no shot at any sort of pull up. I tried to hold negative reps but I just couldn’t do it. The first few times I held it for a few seconds but by the third time I was just jumping and coming down with no slow down.

You’re supposed to go up to 10/5 and do the whole thing for three sets. I couldn’t hit 10 pushups and 5 pull ups on the first set. Figured I was wasting my time so I moved on.

X Chop (8×12, 8×12)

In this one you grab a medicine ball and make a chopping motion across your body. Since you have to move on both sides of your body and then switch your leg position and do it again, each set is 48 reps. It made me sweat but no big deal.

Thrusters (10xBW, 10xBW)

These are insanely hard at this point. I can’t even breathe. My arms hurt when I’m holding myself up and legs hurt when I jump. I had to stop on almost every rep in order to catch my breath and convince myself that I could do another. TOUGH.

Medicine Ball Bicycle (20×10, 15×10)

For some reason these hurt my low back. Added to that was the fact that I couldn’t do more then a few without losing my breath. I had to fight in order to get five in a row. Only did that a few times. I gave up on the second set because of the back pain and didn’t attempt a third set of any of the last three lifts.

Leave a Reply

