Belly Off 2008, week 3, day 1

I took an awkward step after I got back home from the gym yesterday and hurt my back. This is proof of two things.

1) I am officially an old man.

2) Walking around the house is bad for your back.

So, yeah, I worried about that all day today. Especially with today being deadlift day. I’m shocked to report that I had zero back pain during my lifts today. I had some on the walk to the gym and even had some in between sets but during them there was nothing. Amazing.

Here are the numbers.

Deadlift (15×120, 12×125, 10×130)

After three weeks I finally decided to add some weight. I don’t know what came over me. I was really worried about my back at the start but when I practiced the motion with just bodyweight I was fine. Figured I’d go for broke.

It was pretty tough but I got through it OK. I really felt the strain in my legs. That combined with the lack of back pain leads me to believe I actually know how to do these now.

Bench (10×100, 10×100, 8×100)

I ended up going to the gym during the busiest part of the day so obviously the bench presses were taken. I ended up using dumbbells and it was just as good. Took a shot in the dark and went with 50’s. I think I chose correctly. I missed the last two reps in the last set because my right arm gave out.

Reverse lunge (10×30, 10×30, 10×30)

These were tough again. Not sure why. One thing that’s for sure is I’m getting every bit of these reps. My knee scrapes the floor every time. I’m actually concerned that going up in weight might disrupt my form and I’ll go back to half lunges or something. That being said, it’s time to move up to the 20’s. If getting all the reps for three straight weeks isn’t enough evidence then I’ll never have any.

Intervals

I really need to spread these intervals out more. It’s not fun to do them on back to back days. I was really tired when I started as usual. By the time I finished I was even worse. These things are so tough. I can’t believe I’m able to finish them.

I had thoughts of running thirty minutes after I finished. I’m sooooooo far behind on my race training that it’s not funny. My race is in a little over two weeks. I stood on the treadmill and couldn’t even keep up with the walking pace. Maybe another time…..

I planned on getting in two long runs before my taper week starting on the first of December. Either I’m gonna have to start doubling up workouts or I’m gonna have to start cutting out runs. Neither sound likes a great idea right now.

2 responses to “Belly Off 2008, week 3, day 1

  1. Very well written blog. Great information. I will be visiting your blog more often.

  2. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really great psts and I believe I would be a good asset.
    If youu evger want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please send me an email if interested.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

