Belly Off 2008, week 4, day 2

I feel OK about this one, I guess. I added weight on a couple of lifts but I still can’t shake the feeling that I could do more. A lot more. Probably can’t shake it because it’s true.

Here are the numbers. I did all four in a row with no rest.

Dumbbell Snatch (8×25, 8×30, 8×30)

I went up to the next set of dumbbells on the second and third sets. I was still able to do them OK. As for my form, that’s a big question mark. I have no idea. I take the weight from my knee to over my head in one motion. That’s about all I know for sure. I use a TON of hip drive. I probably need to do some more research and figure out if that’s the way to go.

Ranging Squat (10×100, 10×100, 6×100)

For the second straight week I couldn’t finish the last set because of back pain. This was what I was worried about. I obviously feel like I’m capable of lifting a lot more and thus getting a much better workout. My back just won’t allow me to do it.

There’s really nothing to do but ride this out. I’m gonna stay at 100 pounds until I can get a few pain free lifts in.

One Arm Dumbbell Press (10×40, 10×40, 10×40)

No increase here. Definitely should have. No problems other then on the last set. My back hurt when I did the right arm. Nothing that would have stopped me but annoying nonetheless.

Dumbbell RDL w/row (10×25, 10×30, 10×30)

Bumped it up to the 30’s today. These were as tough as usual. They always leave me the most tired. I don’t know if it’s because of the lift or because it’s the last of four lifts. Probably a little of both. Somehow, I escaped this whole exercise with no back pain. I have no clue how that’s even possible.

Leave a Reply

