My first swimming workout

7 laps

Today was my first day to go swimming at the gym pool. I don’t remember the last time I was in a pool. Probably 10 years. I know that I’ve never spent any time doing laps with any amount of seriousness.

The pool at our gym is pretty nice. It has four lanes and there were only two people there when we showed up so we were in luck. I don’t know how popular that thing is so finding a lane could be an issue in the future. I guess I’ll find out.

Today’s swim was surprisingly tough. I was breathing heavy from the very first half lap. I had to stop and take a breather after every one that followed. A couple of times I couldn’t make it all the way and had to dog paddle or even walk my way to the end. You gotta start somewhere I guess.

My plan is to make swimming my primary cardio workout for a while and see how it goes. I like the idea of changing things up. I also like the possibilities of measuring improvement. It should be fun to increase my endurance. Another added element is the differing strokes. Right now all I do is freestyle but if I want I can incorporate all the other ones later on. The possibilities are endless.

I really don’t have any concrete plans in mind. I obviously want to increase the laps but first I want to build up to the point where I can do a full lap (to the end and back) without stopping. I’ll probably do a little digging and look up some workouts. This week will be dedicated to just getting a feel for the pool and having fun.

One response to “My first swimming workout

  1. You’ll find you improve quickly with swimming! Also, once you can do a few laps, getting tips on your technique will make a big difference too.

    Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

