Sunday weigh in

247.4 (-2.8lbs)

Workouts are still hit or miss. I lifted twice and went swimming once.

It’s extremely difficult to get motivated to go to the gym. I’m at the point now where I feel pretty good about how I look. I realize that I can still afford to lose at least 30 pounds but it’s just not enough to fire me up.

Back in the day I was miserable about my appearance and that really got me out of bed in the morning. Now, well, not so much. Three years of obsessing about something will do that to you. Now it just feels like nitpicking. If my current weight is as low as it goes then I’ll be OK.

I’ve accomplished the vast majority of what I want. I can walk into any department store in America and know that my size will be sitting on the rack. I can walk outside in the summer and know that my shirt won’t be drenched with sweat. I can sit in my chair and know that my breathing won’t be labored. I don’t feel self conscious when I’m in a group of people. I’ve stopped the annoying habit of readjusting my shirt every five minutes. I could go on and on but you get the point. Losing 100 pounds eliminated 99% of the problems I had associated with my weight.

I’m not sure how to snap out of this. I’d like to get back to lifting three days a week with some cardio in between. Now that it’s warming up I might get back into running. Maybe another race would give me a reason to stick to a schedule. I’m not going to quit this thing altogether so I’ve got to figure something out.

One response to “Sunday weigh in

  1. Hey, I’m glad to see that you have updated your blog. I found it a couple years ago and always seem to check it every few weeks to see how its going. I was also a little worried since you had been so religious about it before.

    I have a couple things that are motivating to me that may or may not be useful to you.

    One is to use an online resource to help count calories, track workouts, etc. I use physicsdiet to see my progress and fitday to add calories since I can just browse a list of foods and quickly estimate rather than punch in numbers and read nutrition labels. It seems eating unhealthy carries a steeper penalty when I know I’m going to have to look up “ice cream cone” later when I fill out my daily caloric intake.

    Secondly, about a year ago I invested in a GPS watch for running/biking. It’s a good way to measure any distance or workout without needing a track. It definitely makes it much more exciting to get outside and run and also pushes me to finish at a faster time than I previously did. It’s also easy to set up a quick interval training session, time yourself in a 5k to see if you can beat your personal record, or even race against yourself using the same route you previously did.

    Anyway, maybe you have already done these things, but I just thought I would throw them out there. Good to see you are keeping up your healthy lifestyle.

    –Nick

Leave a Reply

